Definitive guide

How to Delete WordPress Account

How to Delete WordPress Account – Ultimate Guide (2022)

Do you want to know how to delete a WordPress account?

You came to the right place!

Deleting your WordPress account is super easy. Follow these steps to get it done right away. 

 Here we go! 

How to Delete WordPress Account

WordPress

 Before canceling your WordPress account, be sure you understand the immediate and long-term ramifications. Closing your account deletes all of your sites and their contents. After a few weeks, the data will be completely removed from the WordPress system, and the procedure cannot be undone.

Alternatives to Account Closure

 You could take less extreme measures if you want. Have a look at these. 

  • If you are unsatisfied with your username, you can change it. 
  • Remove all posts and start again. 
  • Unsubscribe from WordPress.com email notifications. 
  • Give your website to someone else.

However, if  you’re that determined, here are the steps for you to follow: 

Step 1: Access your WordPress account.

Log in with your username and password. If you have multiple accounts, ensure that you are logged into the correct one before beginning the deletion procedure.

Step 2: Go to “Account Settings.”

 If you have an active WordPress.com plan or other upgrades, you must cancel it before you may deactivate your account. This can be done on your account’s Purchases. Furthermore, some plugin-enabled sites may require contact with support to finalize an account deletion.

Step 3: Scroll down and click “Close your account permanently.”

 Make a .zip file of anything you want to keep and then download it. Your content is worth preserving even if you have no plans to create another WordPress site.

Account Recovery

 If you mistakenly delete your WordPress account or change your mind after finishing the account closure process, you can retrieve it. Yey! Accounts can be reversed within 30 days. 

 To retrieve your account, email WordPress support and give vital account information. Support professionals can then assist you in recovering and reactivating your account. However, after 30 days, all data associated with your account is erased and cannot be restored. The time is ticking. 

Conclusion 

WordPress is one of the most popular website and blog hosting platforms. Before you delete your account, think thrice. Yeah, not just twice. It’s a hard decision, after all. I hope you got everything you need on how to delete your WordPress account!